How has technology affected the way you ride?

As stated, anything goes.
manbeer
Never leaves
Never leaves

How has technology affected the way you ride?

Post by manbeer »

I started riding a lot back around '94. For a good 3 years, i was out every day, in the rain, snow etc. No matter what the weather was, i didn't care. To make a long story short, i ended up getting into music, started a band and biking wound up on the back burner. Although there were a few brief periods where i would get into riding again it never was the same. Back in 2009 was the first that i really fell back into it with similar enthusiasm.

So ive been riding a lot in the past year or so and have been trying to figure out what feels so different about it. Is it just cause im old and not in as good of shape? Do i not push myself as hard? Something just felt different. Then it hit me...

Back around 95 we didn't have the technology that we do today. Discman was the prevalent portable music player and you couldn't exactly ride while listening to music since they would skip like crazy. These last couple years i have been listening to music the whole time i ride. I don't know if it is distracting me, or benefiting me since it helps me keep pace.

I can't help but think sometimes that i miss the way it was back in the day, before mp3's and cell phones though. Now i feel like i don't absorb the surroundings as much, and everytime i get a text msg or email i hear the notification and immediately feel the need to check it. I remember how amazed i was that i could call from anywhere when i first got a cell phone, and then a few years after when internet was being introduced on phones. Then in 2007 when i first got the iPhone, i was at a bbq on the beach in the middle of the night watching youtube and it seemed like the coolest thing. Now I have the HTC Inspire, and its just amazing. Sometimes i think it can do more than my computer.